K & Company Frippery Jewelry Kit

August 25, 2006 at 5:48 pm Leave a comment

Add to Google

For months I have been eager to try putting together one of K & Company’s Frippery Jewelry Kits. Since first seeing an ad for them in Creating Keepsakes magazine, I have been checking my local craft stores to see if they would start stocking the kits. My local Hobby Lobby didn’t carry them, and I didn’t see them at my local Michael’s. So, imagine my suprise when I found that my local fabric store had a nice variety in stock, tucked away in their crafting supply section.

I was instantly attracted to the color combinations and designs of the Katie collection. And decided to make a pair of earrings, and a charm necklace. This was my first attempt at any sort of jewelry making, so I was glad to see that the kit came with everything I’d need to complete my jewelry except a pair of pliers, and wire cutters. I thought to myself, “No problem! I’m sure I’ve got those hidden somewhere in the kitchen junk drawer.”, and I headed home to start on the project.

I was so excited to see the kit that I actually opened it in the parking lot, while sitting in my 100 degree car on a hot August afternoon in the South. I’m crafty, but I’m not always very bright.

The necklace kit includes 6 metal charms- 3 square and 3 circles. They are nice and heavy, and have decorative edges, and really gorgeous K & Company designed “K” designs embossed on the back of each charm. I think this is a really nice touch since the charms look great even if they get flipped over while you’re wearing the piece.

Also included are 7 different paper designs, conveniently printed on sticker paper, so all you have to do is pick the design you want, the shape you want (circle or square), and stick the sticker onto the metal charm. Then you can top it with the included clear plastic dome stickers of the same shape to create a magnified version of the paper design, and a very clean and polished looking charm.

I enthusiastically started sticking papers onto charms, and creating my masterpiece. I knew I wanted to spell out the word “Lucky”, and since I had also purchased the earring kit, I dipped into the stash of letters and papers in that kit as well to mix it up a bit. There are plenty of supplies in each kit to give you a lot of variation, but I can’t ever play by the rules, so mixing the kits was a natural choice for me.

After I had gotten all of my charms together, and looking the way I wanted, I set about assembling the necklace. Now, maybe it’s me, but I don’t find jewelry making all that simple. My hands always feel too big and clumsy, and I easily get flustered. Especially since I coudln’t find that set of pliers and wire cutters I was so sure were in the kitchen junk drawer!

I highly recommend splurging and getting the Tiny Tool Kit. You’ll thank yourself during assembly. Or at least having a really nice pair of needle nose pliers on hand. Essential! Essential!

You can also purchase little punches that will let you punch out pictures in the perfect size and shape of the charms if you want. The kit comes with lovely green pearlesque beads for you to add to embellish your piece. Since I prefer my jewelry to be a little more dangly, I cannabalized another necklace, and combined it with the provided beads to create my own gypsy version of the necklace and earring set.

Here I am, modeling my new jewels. 

K & Company Frippery

Overall, I think this is a GREAT product, and I am very happy with the way my jewelry turned out. While they are on sale at my local fabric store, I am planning to go pick up the Phoebe set as well. Same idea. Different color scheme.

I think the jewelry is of good quality, and that I will get a lot of wear out of it. In fact, I’ve worn it everyday since I finished the pieces!

So, this product gets FIVE STARS for creativity, quality, and fun. It’s a great keepsake, and would make a fabulous gift, either as a kit or as a finished piece of jewelry.

Entry filed under: 5 Stars (Amazing!), Frippery, Jewelry, Reviews.

Dog Ears- Memory Makers September 2006 Part I


Add To Google Homepage

Add to Google

Pages

August 2006
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

Feeds